Let’s drive around and laugh at everything

The older of my two sisters, Sarah, accompanied me to my Technical Writing class yesterday morning. She is an Art History major at UGA, but they are on spring break this week.

How sweet. She opted to spend a morning out of her spring break with her older brother. 🙂

Following several amusing discussions about the upcoming elections, our group project, and even a memo from an irate feminine products customer, Sarah commented to me as we were walking to Tech Square for lunch:

“I spent the whole class period trying to put my finger on it, when I finally realized: nobody here dresses up for classes.”

Perhaps, following my four years of Catholic high schooling (and, before that, eight years of Catholic grade schooling), I grew accustomed to the daily regimen of uniforms. For guys, that meant slacks and polo shirts in the spring and fall, and oxford shirts and ties in the winter. I cannot convey just how relaxing it is to go to class in gym shorts and a t-shirt, or sweat pants and a hoodie if it’s cold.

I feel like I have room to breathe. The environment here is so conducive to innovation.

Granted, UGA students obviously don’t wear uniforms. But the general consensus I’ve received from friends of mine who are students there is that a lot of people do get a bit more tidied up before leaving their rooms for the day.

Of course, how you, gentle reader, choose to interpret this is entirely up to you. One could argue that we’re a bunch of nerds who don’t care about our appearances. One could also argue that UGA is like high school, continued.

Oh, stereotypes. Perpetual sources of selective and slanted truth.

On another note, with Cathryn’s help in the wee hours of Wednesday morning, we managed to isolate the insidious bug I mentioned in a previous post, and the proxy now functions with nary a hitch. Next step: implementation of shared memory!

Also, today’s mah 23rd burfday! *shimmies*

How many boards could the Mongols hoard if the Mongol horde got bored?

And finally…I leave for Ohio in 6 hours! 😀

About Shannon Quinn

Oh hai!
This entry was posted in Academics, Programming, random, the fam, The Lady. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Let’s drive around and laugh at everything

  1. eksith says:

    At my school there was, pretty much, only one uniform requirement… Pants.

    Considering I went to night school, everything else seemed to be optional.

    It looked like the professors were too tired and blurry-eyed to notice the guy sitting to the left with the prison tatoos, no shirt and cigarette tucked behind one ear… Now that’s a sterotype if there ever was one!

    It was even more obvious that they weren’t paying attention, let alone us, since there were only about 15 of us in class at the time.

    Don’t ask me which school I went to 😉

    Have fun in Ohio!

  2. eksith says:

    Oh! And happy birthday (4 day late) Birthday!

  3. magsol says:

    I’ll take your advice and won’t ask, since you have otherwise piqued my curiosity. 😛

    Thank you for the birthday wishes!

Leave a Reply

