A confession

This may come as a bit of a shock to some of you, but I really don’t like Microsoft.

Earthshattering, isn’t it? I mean, I spend so much time blathering on and on about Vista and the advantages of inane features like User Access Control, beaming over improvements like SP1 and its tendency to destroy hard drives outright, and gleefully recommending that my friends, family, and coworkers stay the hell away from Vista until the most insidious issues are quashed, or until Windows 7 debuts.

Yeah.  Totally.

And as if a crappy operating system of a flagship product wasn’t enough for me to regard Vista as I would a plague-infested carrion beetle, the sales team releases something like this to help promote the product.

Almost makes me want to break out my cowboy hat and chaps.  And by “break out” I mean “*head” and by “my cowboy hat and chaps” I mean “desk*”.

(Disclaimer: I have all the respect in the world for the things Windows actually does well [yes, they do exist]; the reality is simply that Windows doesn’t do a whole lot well that I find useful to me, thus I personally do not care for it.  Do not let my obviously neutral opinion sway you from what you feel is the best operating system for your needs.  And furthermore, if you ask me for an objective operating system analysis based on certain criteria, I will give it to you.  Just be warned, if you’re too vague, you’ll get something like the above entry. :P)

About Shannon Quinn

Oh hai!
This entry was posted in movies, random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A confession

  1. eksith says:

    Forget destroying hard drives… merely plugging in my USB attached drive would cause it to crash after installing SP1. I had to turn my computer on with it already plugged in to keep it from crashing. And I kept getting a Ctrl + Alt + Del malfunction that kept giving me a blank screen.

    I just uninstalled SP1 and just put on the security updates.

    We have about 10 desktops at work that we’re planning to upgrade to Vista… Oh how I dread that scenario!

    There are some things Microsoft manages to get right. But some others that they get so wrong and in the worst possible areas that make it bloody infuriating sometimes.
    I think it’s the fact that MS fancies Windows a friendly OS, but manages to be quite unfriendly and outright hostile in certain arenas.

    It wouldn’t nearly be as bad if MS walked the walk that it talks about all the time.

    That said, I don’t see Linux being adopted as readily as Windows even with the aid of hardware vendors until it becomes significantly lazy-friendly. Except for Ubuntu (I’ll gloss over the issues with that for now 😉 ) many linux distros involve extensive typing during an installation… And more typing during updates.
    And that’s a big no-no as far as grandma is concerned 😉

    If the Prod-Key garners complaints from users, imagine the vitriol for :
    “apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade”

    I think the solution is to create a user-friendly, but useful and secure desktop OS that’s not completely ugly on the front-end.
    Appearences matter… hence the success of Mac OS X. And yes, I have used it and do think it’s style over substance.
    (Puts on Nomex® fire-suit)

    Of course, it’s easy to complain about this, but I think Linux has great potential that isn’t realized due to high ranking elitists in the core branch. “User-friendly” is seen as some kind of weakness. I say that’s a logical fallacy.

    When that changes, we’ll see widescale adoption and MS wouldn’t stand a chance. It might even reverse the shyness seen among hardware vendors when it comes to releasing drivers.

  2. magsol says:

    I worked for a campus department for two years, alternating every semester, and whenever our Win2K server was rebooted, we had to *remove* the USB hard drive or else Windows would crash upon load. Apparently, several service packs and a few full releases later, Microsoft still hasn’t quashed that bug.

    Windows is friendly from plug-and-play and “we’ve been running your desktop for the last 10 years” perspectives. It’s about as friendly as a wounded cougar in most other respects.

    Ubuntu, I think, has done a great job trying to put Linux on the same market as Windows. It’s massively outgunned, and the Linux kernel still has a ways to go (wireless drivers? HAHAHAHAHAHA surely you jest). There’s still that ongoing debate between hardcore *nix users wanting to keep Linux the “programmer’s OS,” and marketing it to mainstream users a la Ubuntu or RedHat. Nevertheless, increased competition, particularly in light of Vista, can’t be anything but a good thing.

    Honestly, I feel OS X is the closest to getting it right; my laptop is a MacBook, and though I won’t readily admit it, its duties have far surpassed the “mobile development platform” I had first envisioned for it. It’s become my livelihood. My desktop has taken a supportive backseat to what this thing cranks out. I know it’s not for everyone, but it sure has been useful for me.

Leave a Reply

