All work and no sleep…

I can’t think of a more ominous way to start off my first graduate semester than with an almost-all-nighter.

Quite a few months ago, when my website was fully functional, I ran a wiki as a way of tracking all my programming projects. Unfortunately, somewhere amidst the numerous database migrations, the entire wiki database was lost. Of course, it’s not like I had any code of significant quality on it 😛 Still, it proved to be an excellent way to track my progress on any given project.

Not too long ago, I finally reinstalled the wiki on my new webhost, and over the course of this past weekend I gathered all the resources I have accumulated by way of GSoC and spent last night tallying what was online into a coherent article that I could use at a later time to pick up where I left off.

Of course, half the intended purpose of a wiki is to allow others to pick up my work, so it is there for anyone else to tackle as well.

There are a few other major projects I added links for, and which I will fill in with code and documentation soon enough.

http://www.magsolweb.net/wiki is the URL, though at the moment the wiki is misconfigured to disallow public access, and unfortunately I have not yet had a chance to contact my webhost to request FTP access from here in Pittsburgh. I will have that set up soon, though.

In the meantime, welcome to the Graduate Biological Sciences orientation:

About Shannon Quinn

Oh hai!
This entry was posted in Academics, Graduate School, GSoC, Programming. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All work and no sleep…

  1. Cathryn says:

    WIKI!!!!!

    Sorry, I just like the word.

    So I’m still tossing around this whole starting-my-own-wordpress-for-random-thoughts-sort-of-thing idea. What do you think?

    <3CJH

  2. eksith says:

    It’s nice you’ve gone the wiki route, and yes, you can turn MediaWiki into a fully functional backend for a site, you must take a few steps to make it sane for you to admin the thing.

    I was able to register and, I’m guessing, you didn’t limit edit privileges for new users. That’s a big no, no for a private wiki.
    If I can register then spammers will be next now that the link is public… Beware! 😉

    You know you’re really tired when even your camera takes “dream sequence” photos with that lovely haze 😛

  3. magsol says:

    @Cathryn: WEEKEE! 🙂
    And I love your new username 😉 <3SPQ

    @eksith: Two years ago, before my website went down, I used the wiki to manage group projects. Since it included contact information for my group members, I restricted viewing to those who were logged in. For some reason, I never had a problem with spam bots registering. Still, you bring up a very good point and i’m kind of wondering why I didn’t think of that. Since there isn’t sensitive contact info on the wiki anymore, I saw no reason to restrict viewing when the purpose was to manage the code I produce for my projects. But I have restricted editing permissions – only authenticated users can edit, and registration is now disabled. Thank you muchly for the heads up 🙂

    Yeah, not even three hours of sleep. Apparently that kind of sleep deprivation is catching, as you pointed out 😛

Leave a Reply

