The First Week

Ronon, my shining new exemplar of computing perfection, now has three operating systems installed, configured, and updated: WinXP, Ubuntu, and Vista, and I’m currently in the process of configuring VMWare within Vista to run an Ubuntu webserver and proxy.

There’s one more OS I’d like to install, but I can’t talk about that here. *grin*

So!  The first week of graduate coursework is finished.  I know everyone (myself included) enjoys making projections of academic performance for the entire semester after only a week of introductory lectures, no exams or homework assignments, and plenty of “it’s only the beginning of the semester” -spurred social activities.  I liken this tendency to America’s own apparent need to evaluate a new president after the first 100 days in office.

Still, without any shadow of a doubt, these first few days have been completely unlike any other first few days.  Yes, I’m quite positive it has something to do with the fact that I’m in graduate school now.  But considering that three of the four courses I’m taking are undergraduate courses, I think my opinion has some validity to it.

And, to stem the inevitable barrage of merrymaking at my expense regarding the fact that a good 50% of my classmates are freshman, the reason I am mostly not in cahoots with my graduate school brethren is because they are enjoying the rigors of taking CS courses together, while I catch up on the Biology and Chemistry side of things.

Capiche?

Here’s the point I am trying laboriously to get to: I have, without any hesitation whatsoever, the best crop of professors and TAs I have ever been privy to.  My Biology professor is a cheery, enthusiastic nerd of a man who loves bouncing around the room explaining even the most basic biological concepts.  My Chemistry professor is a sarcastic man who enjoys pointing out the epic failures of the chemists and alchemists of old.  My Biochemistry professor is brand new to CMU, and while this class will definitely be the most difficult (by far), he was one of the professors to present his research to the incoming computational biology graduate class and offer positions to us.  He’s young, he’s friendly, he’s energetic, and his duo of TAs are awesome – one of them threw a party at her place for all of us newcomers to the CMU biology graduate program.  Finally, my ProbStat professor is plainly and simply awesome.  He’s got a sense of humor, loves explaining probability and statistical concepts in plain english…

…and for any of you who might understand the reference, he looks like Harry Goldenblatt.  Oh and by the way, his name is Larry Wasserman.  WAFFLULZ.

Things have finally settled down around the apartment; I’m about 95% moved in, finally.  All that’s left is to hang a few bulletin boards, and I am finished.  Posters are up, clothes are put away, food is organized, utilities (such as the oh-so-essential internetz) are up and running, and the weather has been absolutely wonderful.  A few showers here and there, and still a few more degrees warmer than I’d prefer, but infinitely better than the scorching heat and stifling humidity that has defined the last 20 years in Atlanta.

I don’t miss the place all that much.  Pittsburgh is pretty freaking cool.  I do, however, miss the people of Atlanta, and quite a bit.  Thanksgiving is a long way off.

Anywho.  Whenever I click a link from now on, this picture is going to come to mind:

About Shannon Quinn

Oh hai!
This entry was posted in Academics, Graduate School, lolcat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

