CPU Overheating, hooray!

(in an effort to try and get as much help as possible, I am cross-posting this forum entry here)

I seem to be having cooling issues with my beast of a desktop. I suppose it’s been a problem since I first put the thing together, but it’s become a lot worse in the last few weeks. It’ll run for a few days, not really doing anything beyond running my virtual machines, email, and instant messengers, and then after 48, 72, 96 hours running, it’ll just lock up and freeze and require a reboot.

I just tested it today by running this freeware load tester, and whaddya know, 6 minutes into the test, with all four cores having been running at 100% for a good five minutes straight, everything locked up. I’m assuming, therefore, that for whatever reason the CPU is getting too hot.

So I’m looking for suggestions as to what to do.

Here are the stats:
-Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 Yorkfield 2.5GHz CPU
-ASUS P5N-D LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
-Corsair Dominator 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel
-Western Digital Caviar SE16 640GB 7200RPM SATA 3.0/Gb/s
Desktop case

When I first put the desktop together, I had a hell of a time snapping the CPU fan in place; in fact, it was slightly out of alignment for a little while. However, shortly into last semester, I was finally able to snap it entirely into place and it has cooperated nicely up until a few weeks ago. It may also be prudent to note that there is no thermal paste between the CPU and the fan; none was provided, nor were there instructions for doing so.

Any assistance at all is welcome!  I have a real post in mind for later, so don’t worry about getting back to my regularly-scheduled nothingmabob 🙂

About Shannon Quinn

Oh hai!
This entry was posted in Real Life, Technology and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to CPU Overheating, hooray!

  1. 5 DOLLAR FOOT LONG says:

    IF the thing was locking up when you didnt have the HS seated properly then you might have toasted your cpu to armageddon. Stock heatsink comes with a thermal pad if thats not making contact then the thing won’t work properly.

  2. magsol says:

    It was indeed locking up when the heatsink wasn’t situated properly; but after getting it situated (this was back in September), it has worked like a charm ever since – at least four months of solid dependability. Given that the CPU worked just fine for those months, I don’t really have any reason to believe the CPU is cooked.

    I did take the thing apart, and noticed that the thermal grease was completely dried to a powder. I have since ordered some more and will try that when it arrives. I’ve also been given a suggestion to buy a more powerful heatsink, aside from Intel’s stock setup (see the link at the top of this entry).

    Also, I noticed you’re on the CMU campus! Do I know you? 😛

  3. 5 DOLLAR FOOT LONG says:

    how about no

  4. Pingback: When I’m stressed, I get my car repaired too « Theatre of Consciousness

  5. Pingback: When I’m stressed, I get my car repaired too » lolcat.us

  6. bernard says:

    Frankly todays laptop overheating problem is common with the the high speed processor that we demand from our 17 inch laptop. High graphics works on games adds the the over heating. I uses the iPost or iSnap balls under the my laptop and they works wonders. http://www.pwx.cc

  7. Pingback: A plugin that makes bagels would be nice, too « Theatre of Consciousness

  8. Pingback: One final technical appeal | theatre of consciousness

Leave a Reply

