More futuristic discussion

Wait for it, wait for it…

ACRONYM FAIL!

ACRONYM FAIL!

Now that I have your attention, I’d like to share where I’m thinking I’ll be at this time next year.

As I will be graduating from Carnegie Mellon with a master’s degree this coming May, the gears have already been grinding for a few months in determining where I’ll be ending up. Obviously my beautiful girlfriend and I are tag-teaming this item, as she will be finishing her bachelor’s degree from NYU at the same time and is also looking for jobs/at grad schools, so we’re hoping to end up in the same location (for obvious reasons). Both our focuses (foci?) are on jobs and graduate schools.

Before I go any further, let me say this: I won’t be delving into too much detail here, as I am not interested in unintentionally sabotaging my efforts in any of these endeavors. If you really want to know details, contact me (perhaps even for an interview πŸ˜‰ ) and I’d be happy to oblige.

That said, I have already spoken with folks from IBM about possible work opportunities next May. I am also speaking with Academia.edu, an academic-oriented social networking site. There are others I will be contacting in the coming weeks.

Regarding graduate schools, I will be applying to Carnegie Mellon, MIT, Cornell, and Georgia Tech, to their respective Computer Science PhD programs with research emphasis in bioinformatics, computational biology, algorithms, and machine learning. Thankfully, I already have several professors who have expressed interest in writing me recommendations, and my GRE scores from two years ago are still good.

It’s pretty exciting stuff. After this summer at IBM, I have a much clearer idea of what it is I want to spend the rest of my life doing. Granted, it’s still pretty broad, but it’s significantly improved since my days of “I’m interested in everything in CS!” (which, truth be told, weren’t all that long ago).Β  The hard part is snagging a position that will challenge me; by definition, those positions are challenging to obtain in the first place.

In the meantime, I have PLENTY of work to keep me busy (astrophysics is brutal, web applications is time-consuming, computational modeling is mind-bending, and research is challenging)…AND NEXT FRIDAY NIGHT IS GONNA BE HUGE:

universe

Yes folks, it’s the two-hour StarGate: Universe premier, on Syfy at 9pm eastern! w0000000t

About Shannon Quinn

Oh hai!
This entry was posted in Academics, Graduate School, Real Life, The Lady and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More futuristic discussion

  1. Steve says:

    sure you don’t want to throw that degree away and work with me in chicago?

  2. Matt says:

    You know, UW has a pretty good CS PhD program too… just sayin.

  3. halfsmile says:

    This is totally unrelated to this post, but I just wanted to let you know because I don’t have a twitter: Your CoC(K) blog will always be linked in my heart…

    …wow that was cheesy. *BARFS*

    Also, OMG STARGATE UNIVERSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111111eoneoneoneoneoneonoenoen

Leave a Reply

