CPU ubiquity

There was this fantastic poll on Slashdot recently (ok, most of their polls are awesome) that really makes you consider just how ubiquitous computers have become, and to what phenomenal degree we take them for granted. In honor of this poll, I thought I’d attempt to enumerate the gadgets I have within my own apartment which contain a CPU (disregarding multicore processors for the sake of simplicity). Please let me know if I’ve omitted anything:

  • Desktop computer (individual components, e.g. video card?)
  • Laptop
  • iPhone
  • iPod
  • Thermostat
  • Microwave
  • Television
  • Wii
  • Wiimotes (x4)
  • Router
  • DSL modem
  • Alarm clock
  • Cable box
  • DVD player
  • White noise machine
  • Dishwasher
  • TI-82 calculator
  • Digital camera
  • Refridgerator

Those are just the items I could think of off the top of my head. Kind of cool, isn’t it?

About Shannon Quinn

Oh hai!
This entry was posted in Articles, Hardware, Internet, lolcat, Polls, Real Life, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CPU ubiquity

  1. eksith says:

    Refrigerator! 😀

    And on a passing note to your previous post…
    Just because we’ve clothed ourselves in technology doesn’t mean we’ve fundamentally changed as a species.

    When the progress of our nurture far outruns our nature, courtesy of technology and Oprah, we have to be very careful how our nature responds. Sadly, our nature is still reactionary for the most part. Realistically though, we’re in almost the same shape in terms of political and social fractures as the late 60’s-70’s. It’s just that the idiocracy is more visible to the masses thanks to Twitter and Facebook.

    • magsol says:

      I actually thought about that appliance and wasn’t sure; consider it added with my thanks!

      To be honest, it’s always been pretty easy for me to ignore the bulk of the mindless rabble on the intertubes (because let’s face it: 99% of what resides on the internet is crap). The problem (for me) comes into play with things like Facebook, Twitter, and even WordPress, where I selectively choose who I follow, and of that tiny sliver of the whole population, there are some individuals who post the most ridiculous crap I’ve ever read. And it totally sets off my Irish temper.

      True that the Internet makes it all more visible, which is why I’m simply choosing to walk away from it for the time being. I have no problems at all conversing and debating in person (truth be told, these tend to be much more civil…that’s probably not a coincidence) or through some more private, one-on-one setting that retains a certain degree of personal contact. It’s the anonymity of the crowd, and the Internet effect of debates that I’m choosing to avoid right now.

      And I have to say: I’m quite a bit happier 😛

Leave a Reply

