Day 3: Titan

IMG_1124
Ars Technica posted an article today detailing the world’s 10 fastest supercomputers. Check out #2 on that list. It’s in the photo above, and is quite literally one floor down from where my desk is this summer.

I’ve known it was there, and have walked by several times ogling it, but one of my fellow Ph.D. students sent that link out to the email list we’re on, asking specifically if I knew about it. So I went downstairs and snapped a few pictures. Basically the coolest thing ever.

On the note of these posts: I’ve decided I may start consolidating a few days’ worth, posting a range of dates in a single post. The pictures will still be ones I took on each specific day (and I’ll note them as such), but given that I wake at 5am on a typical weekday, it’s a little hectic to get a post in and get some real R&R in the evenings while still getting to bed on time.

About Shannon Quinn

Oh hai!
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 3: Titan

  1. Is the NSA – I MEAN ORNL – okay with you taking pictures of said supercomputer?

    • magsol says:

      To be perfectly honest, I don’t know 😛 It’s the only part of Titan that’s publicly viewable, and you can certainly find pictures of it online. But it is also on the ORNL campus, so who knows?

Leave a Reply

