Day 15: Goodbye, Knoxville

Photo Jun 29, 18 57 39I can’t really say that packing has ever been one of the more enjoyable tasks, particularly after a seemingly short stay of two months. Just enough time to get settled, not enough time to really feel like you’re leaving a place you know.

I’ve had a lot of fun here. I wish I’d had a little more time (though that would be contingent on The Lady being here as well), but I suppose to a certain extent, that will always be the case. One thing is certain: Knoxville is on our short list of places under consideration for post-graduate locales.

One thing that was lacking through my eight weeks here was my inability to visit the Smokies. My first weekend was spent just settling in, the next three weekends were either traveling or playing host, and then I had two weekends to myself to hunker down and get work done before traveling to Vegas, and now here we are. So I carved out a few hours this morning to take a trip down to Townsend, TN and pay the Elkmont Campground a visit. I took a ton of pictures, and even though I didn’t have a whole lot of time to hike around, it was still incredible.

I hope I can make it back here someday, though next time with my better half 🙂

 

About Shannon Quinn

Oh hai!
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 15: Goodbye, Knoxville

  1. eksith says:

    Man, that’s a drag you have to go before really getting settled in.

    If you find a minute, check out a show on Animal Planet called Treehouse Masters. Get inspired. Travel to a parallel universe to find more free time and build one.

    I’m glad I’m not the only one with a bunch of Target bags around the place.

    • magsol says:

      It always took me at least a month during summer internships to get settled and figure out what I was doing. As short as internships are, they’re still usually on the order of 15-16 weeks, so you’re only out a quarter of your tenure. This time around, fully half of my stay was gone. Oh well.

      I think I’ve heard of that show. I’ve always wanted to build one of those crazy waterproof treehouses with electricity and everything. Who knows, maybe if I can invent Iron Man’s HUD and sell it for a bajillion dollars, I can retire and just build treehouses!

      Oh man, those Target bags were instrumental for packing. I kept them around for exactly that purpose.

Leave a Reply

