Day 31: Connections

Photo Jul 15, 18 11 22More than anything, I think the overarching point of graduate school is to really hammer home the reasons and justifications for all the functional knowledge you’ve accumulated to that point. One of many examples: in the ongoing work towards my thesis proposal, I’ve been reading up eigensystems, and discovered why matrix diagonalization is more or less synonymous with finding the eigenvalues and eigenvectors of a matrix.

It was kind of a mini-epiphany. I’ve known about matrix diagonalization since I was 18 and a freshman at Georgia Tech, but I never really understood it in this context.

Remarkable. Also, oh God my proposal needs to be ready by the end of this week, aaaaaaaaahhh.

 

About Shannon Quinn

Oh hai!
This entry was posted in Daily Photo, Graduate School and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

