Day 36: Work of a different kind

Photo Jul 20, 18 49 08Today was another rare day off. I had a 12-miler in the morning, followed immediately by several hours of helping some good friends (former Ragnar teammates, in fact) move from their current apartment to a swank new place.

It was only when I got home that the reality of how completely exhausted I was began to seep in.

I’d had a really terrible run in the morning. As in, borderline didn’t-accomplish-anything. It felt a lot like Philly, where I was clearly running on empty from the start and no amount of Gu, water, music, or interesting courses was going to help me find a rhythm. By the end, I was angry, upset, and beating myself up for reasons that make no sense at all, except in the context of teetering on the edge of burnout.

So that evening, I treated myself to a delicious hamburger, fries, and bourbon caramel milkshake dinner at the local BRGR.

10 more days.

 

About Shannon Quinn

Oh hai!
This entry was posted in Daily Photo, Graduate School, Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

